Cart locking helps prevent data loss while a sales rep is working on a configuration. When a sales rep is working on a configuration in edit mode, any other user who tries to access the cart at the same time will get redirected to a read-only view of the cart. The user in read-only mode can gain edit access only after the sales rep saves, finalizes, abandons or closes the cart.
Ensure that your administrator has configured the necessarybefore using Cart Locking.
While a user is in edit mode, if another user requests control by clicking Request Edit Access, the user currently in edit mode gets notified through an email with the message: “<<user in read-only mode>> has requested to edit the cart. Would you like to grant access?”
In an edit mode, after the user saves, closes, finalizes, or abandons the current cart, an email notification is sent to the user who was waiting to get the edit access of the cart.
The email notifications are sent in the following format:
Action on the cart
Email notification content
Claim Edit Access
User <<name in read-only mode>> has requested edit access to <<proposal name>>. To grant this user with access, please either: save, close, finalize, or abandon your configuration.
Save or Close
<<User name - edit mode user>> is done configuring. You can claim edit access to the cart by clicking the Claim Edit Access button on the cart.
<<User name - edit mode user>> has finalized the configuration. You can now view and edit this finalized version by clicking the Claim Edit Access button on the cart.
<<User name - edit mode user>> is done configuring. You can claim edit access to the cart now by navigating to the quote header page and clicking Configure Products.