Understanding how real-time collaboration works
Overview
The micro-site that displays the content of the quote in CPQ uses web components and a real-time synchronization capability to ensure that any change made to the quote in Collaborative Quoting is instantly visible in the quote in Smart CPQ, without requiring the user to refresh the browser or reopen the quote link. Both Collaborative Quoting micro-site and the quote in CPQ use the same quote object so that quote fidelity and accuracy can be maintained at all time for both Sellers and Buyers.
Below is a simple example of a Buyer and Seller that are collaborating and reviewing a quote together:
The screen on the left is the quote in Smart CPQ, and the one on the right is the the same quote in Collaborative Quoting. In this scenario, the flow would be something like this:
- Jim, a sales rep for a HiTech Computer business is working on a quote for one of his customers, Sally.
- After Jim configures the quote with some products and items that Sally is wanting to purchase, he clicks the Share button to invite Sally to review and collaborate on the quote.
- Sally receives the invitation in her email and opens the link (right side screen) and reviews the quote from the Collaborative Quoting interface.
- Sally determines that she needs to update the quantity of the Samsung Galaxy S21 from 10 to 15 as she needs additional phones for her business.
- The quantity change is immediately visible to Jim in CPQ (left side screen) without any further action either from Jim or Sally.
Regardless of whether Jim has the quote open in Smart CPQ, the changes are persisted to the quote object in the CPQ data repository so that when Jim opens the quote the next time, it will contain all changes that Sally made.
Collaboration User Limits
Collaborative Quoting supports up to 25 users concurrently editing the same quote via Smart CPQ or via the Collaborative Quoting micro-site. Changes by multiple users are supported and follow the last updated rule where if multiple users are editing the same product item, the last update made to that item is retained.
