Conga Product Documentation

Welcome to the new doc site. Some of your old bookmarks will no longer work. Please use the search bar to find your desired topic.

Show Page Sections

Dynamic tables

How to insert a table

The insertion of the table is done in the selected cell, expanding to the right and downwards of this cell.

To create a table, the user must follow this process:

Place the text cursor cell where the table should be inserted. In the add-in on the Home tab, click on the + next to the Table menu.
The component is automatically added. The tag can be renamed, as the field tags.
Select the columns that will be displayed in the table. The set of columns available is limited to the columns corresponding to the chosen data context. Useful Tip: Use the filter to search through the columns.
Click on the ADD TABLE button Users must have selected at least one column to be able to click on the ADD TABLE button.
The table appears in the sheet. The add-in displays the edit mode for the table. Newly created tables have by default two rows: The header line fulfilled with columns name The default line fulfilled with column tags The table has as much columns as the user selected. The table has no formatting at this point. Important The user must not modify the table structure (add/delete/reorder rows and columns) in Excel itself. They must use the add-in panel to manipulate columns and lines.
The user can edit the name of the columns manually if needed.

How to edit a table

Once a table is created, place the text cursor inside the related Table in the document to open the Edit table screen in the add-in. The edit table component allows the user to:

  • Modify table properties
  • Access four different tabs in the sub-navigation menu:
    • Filters: Add and remove the filtering conditions of the table
    • Lines: Add, remove, reorder the table lines for formatting purpose
    • Columns: Add, remove and reorder the table columns
    • + : allow to access a list of available actions depending on where the text cursor is placed

TABLE PROPERTIES

In the upper part of the add-in panel, the user can see the table properties.

When a Header Cell is selected, the Add In will allow the User to edit the table. These actions must not be performed in the table directly as it will break the table model and associated meta data.
The user can edit: The order of the columns The deletion of columns The addition of columns - The user can add one or multiple columns to the table. The added column can be empty or pre-filled with data column tag. The added column is always placed at the end of the table.
The User can Delete the Table by clicking on the delete button
Selecting a column tag will allow the User to edit that particular column. The user must click on edit button to be able to edit column properties.
The user can edit: The name of the table tag (except the fixed “#Type_ID_” section) The column within the data model that is connected. The user can also set up a custom format for that column by checking the box and editing accordingly.

Limitations

  • Only one table is allowed per sheet. Once a table has been added, the Table line in the Home Tab of the Add In will disappear.