When you edit a cart, use cart locking to lock out all the Sales reps with concurrent access.. The other Sales reps can only view the cart in read-only mode. The cart is unlocked when you save, finalize, abandon, or close the cart. Sales reps in read-only mode can gain edit access only after these operations are performed. Cart locking helps prevent data loss while you are working on a configuration.
If you leave the cart idle for a predefined time limit, the cart is unlocked automatically. The cart is considered idle if you do not perform changes to the line items. Changes include updating a value, deleting line items, or adding line items. Other actions on the cart such as updating cart views, viewing the totals, or applying filters are not considered modifications to the line items, and time spent is counted as idle time. The time limit is defined in Cart Edit Access Idle Timeout in Minutes in Config System Properties. After the time limit is exceeded, the cart is unlocked allowing any Sales rep to open the cart in edit mode, locking the cart while that Sales rep is edits it.
Ensure that your administrator has configured the necessary using Cart Locking. For more information, see Enabling Cart Locking for Concurrent Access.before
While you are in edit mode, if another user requests control by clicking Request Edit Access, you are notified through an email with the message: “
<<user in read-only mode>> has requested to edit the cart. Would you like to grant access?”. The field Current User in the Product Configuration object contains the ID of the Sales rep currently accessing the cart in the edit mode. In edit mode, after you save, close, finalize, or abandon the current cart, an email notification is sent to the Sales reps who are waiting to get the edit access to the cart.
Email notifications are sent in the following format:
Action on the cart
Email notification content
Claim Edit Access
User <<name in read-only mode>> has requested edit access to <<proposal name>>. To grant this user with access, please either: save, close, finalize, or abandon your configuration.
Save or Close
<<User name - edit mode user>> is done configuring. You can claim edit access to the cart by clicking the Claim Edit Access button on the cart.
<<User name - edit mode user>> has finalized the configuration. You can now view and edit this finalized version by clicking the Claim Edit Access button on the cart.
<<User name - edit mode user>> is done configuring. You can claim edit access to the cart now by navigating to the quote header page and clicking Configure Products.