Collaboration Portal Dashboard
Overview
When you launch the Collaboration Portal Designer, the Dashboard opens. This is where you will see a list of collaboration portal models and can manage your active and draft models.
For each collaboration portal model, the dashboard shows the following information:
| TITLE | DESCRIPTION |
|---|---|
| Name | The name of the collaboration portal model. On DRAFT, the name can be updated (only the suffix can be updated as the name of the model corresponds to the name of the active version) |
| TITLE | DESCRIPTION |
|---|---|
| Status | The status of the quote model - DRAFT or ACTIVE. When a quote model is created, it is in the DRAFT state. When activated, it is ACTIVE. If you edit an active collaboration portal model, the new version of the portal model is created as a draft. Draft collaboration portal models are displayed as children of the active version. When a draft is activated, it replaces the active collaboration portal model (note: during activation, you can decide if you want to keep the current DRAFT or delete it) |
| Activation Label | Label defined during model activation by the user. It allows to flag the activation with a tag |
| Fingerprint | ID generated during activation. The fingerprint represents a "signature" for a given collaboration portal model. This ID can be retrieved at runtime through the inspector (available for Admin users). It will allow to ensure that the collaboration portal quote opened leverages the model displayed here in the Collaboration Portal Designer. |
| TITLE | DESCRIPTION |
|---|---|
| Actions | Actions available for the quote model: Export Import Delete History |
From from the dashboard you can:
- Create a quote model,
- Import a quote model,
- Open a quote model,
- Rename a Draft
You can also search the list using the search box.
Create a Collaboration Portal Model
To create a collaboration portal model:
Click Create Collaboration Portal Model.
- Fill in the Collaboration Portal model name.
- Click Add. The collaboration portal model is created in DRAFT status.
The Quote model name has to be unique for your tenant. This name will be used as reference to create a quote at runtime (from the CRM for example)
Import a Collaboration Portal Model
Importing a collaboration model is useful when promoting a model from one tenant to another tenant environment. For example, when you deploy a collaboration portal model from a development environment to a test environment. In this case, you must first export the quote model using the Export action, then import it to the new environment.
To import a collaboration portal model from a file:
Click Import Collaboration Portal model.
- Enter the name of the collaboration portal model.
- Click Select an import file to browse to find the file to be imported.
- Click Import. The imported collaboration portal model is created in DRAFT status.
Workflow
- If the model name doesn't exist, it is imported as a DRAFT with the name defined during import.
- If the model name already exists with ACTIVE status, it is added as a DRAFT (displayed as a child of the ACTIVE version).
- If the model name already exists with ACTIVE and DRAFT status, it is added as a DRAFT (displayed as a child of the ACTIVE version).
- If the model name already exists with DRAFT status, it can't be imported. The existing draft must first be deleted.
Activate a Collaboration Portal Model
When you complete configuring your collaboration model, you must activate it. Once activated, it is available in CPQ at runtime and can be used to invite or share the quote with end users.
To activate a collaboration portal model:
- Open the collaboration portal model you want to activate.
- Click Activate in the upper right corner of the screen
When a collaboration portal model is activated, the status changes from DRAFT to ACTIVE. See Collaboration Portal Model Versioning.
When you click on activate, the following popup is displayed
You need to enter an activation label in order to identify your activation. This activation label should contain what changed from the previous activation. This label will be available from the View History action.
In addition, when the collaboration model is activated, the DRAFT is kept in order to allow you to perform changes in the future (useful during collaboration portal model implementation and testing). If you want, you can delete the DRAFT version by clicking the Delete action from the Dashboard.
Edit a Collaboration Portal Model
To edit a DRAFT quote model, simply open the collaboration portal model by clicking on the name and make your desired changes.
To edit an ACTIVE quote model:
- Open the ACTIVE quote model.
- Click Edit in the upper right corner of the screen.
- Click Ok to confirm.
675
- The new DRAFT version opens automatically and you can make your changes.
OR, if you make a change directly to the ACTIVE collaboration portal model, a warning message will appear to inform you that you are trying to edit the ACTIVE collaboration portal model:
Click OK to continue and a new DRAFT will be created. You cannot change the active quote model, you must create a new draft.
The new draft is shown under the ACTIVE version on the Dashboard. The date and time are added to the name to show when it was created.
Automatic save
Each change performed on the quote model is automatically saved.
View History
To view the history of a collaboration portal model, click on the history icon for a given collaboration portal model
The model history page is displayed and the history of the collaboration portal model is shown. You can see the:
- Active version (green)
- Draft version(s) (grey)
- Backup version(s) (blue) - when a draft becomes active, the previous active version becomes a backup version
Each version of the collaboration model is represented as following:
Depending on the collaboration portal model status, you can perform several actions:
- On Backups:
- Keep : Flag this version to keep it (see below Backups cleaning)
- Export: Export this version in a ZIP file
- Delete: Delete the backup from the system
- Create Draft: Create a DRAFT version from this backup (This option allows to revert a backup version of your quote model. You can reactivate the created DRAFT and that means that this version will be now active again)
- On Active:
- Keep : Flag this version to keep it (see below Backups cleaning)
- Export: Export this version in a ZIP file
- Create Draft: Create a DRAFT version from the active version
- On Drafts:
- Export: Export this version in a ZIP file
- Delete: Delete the draft
BACKUP CLEANING
Each time a DRAFT version if activated, the ACTIVE version is stored as a BACKUP. You can have several backups of your collaboration portal model. However, the number of backups is limited by a governor limit (see General - Governor Limit). In order to ensure that a backup won't be deleted, you
can flag it "Keep". In that case, this backup won't be taken into account in the cleaning process.
